West Virginia Burn Ban
West Virginia Burning Law

In Effect from March 1 – May 31 and October 1 – December 31

No burning will be permitted from 7 AM until 5 PM – Daily – During the burn ban.

Fire must be attended at all times.

Area must be cleared down to mineral soil for a minimum distance of 10 feet around what is being burned.

If your fire escapes, you are liable for the costs of fighting the fire and any damage the fire may cause to others.

Violating the burn law could result in a maximum fine of $1,000.00

For more information feel free to contact us at (304) 387-0795 or contact the Hancock County Dispatch on the non-emergency line at (304)-564-4100